CIRCULAR

Ref. No. SGF.50/S.II/C.2/268

Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, The Presidency, Shehu Shagari Complex, Three Arms Zone, Abuja.

4th December, 2017

Chief of Staff to the President,

Deputy Chief of Staff to the President, Office of the Vice President,

Honourable Ministers/Ministers of State,

Head of the Civil Service of the Federation,

Chairman, Federal Civil Service Commission,

Chairman, Federal Character Commission,

Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission,

Chairman Revenue Mobilization, Allocation and Fiscal Commission,

Chairman, Incomes, Salaries and Wages Commission

Chairman, Code of Conduct Tribunal,

Chairman, Code of Conduct Bureau,

Permanent Secretaries,

National Security Adviser,

Special Advisers/Senior Special Assistants,

Service Chiefs/Inspector-General of Police

Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria,

Chairman, Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission,

Chairman, Economic and Financial Crimes Commission,

Chairman, National Drug Law Enforcement Agency,

Chairman, National Assembly Service Commission,

Clerk to the National Assembly,

1 8

Chief Registrar, Supreme Court of Nigeria,

Secretary, National Judicial Council,

Auditor General for the Federation,

Accountant General of the Federation,

Heads of Extra-Ministerial Departments/Directors-General/Chief Executive Officers of Parastatals, Agencies and Government-Owned Companies

END OF TENURE PROCESSES FOR HEADS OF EXTRA-MINISTERIAL DEPARTMENTS, DIRECTORS GENERAL, CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERS OF PARASTATALS, AGENCIES, COMMISSIONS AND GOVERNMENT-OWNED COMPANIES AND SUCCESSION GUIDELINE

It has become necessary to draw the attention of all Heads of Extra-Ministerial Departments/Directors General/Chief Executive Officers of Parastatals, Agencies, Commissions and Government Owned Companies, to keep to the date of expiration of their tenure in office. It is important to note that Chief Executives whose duration of term in office are explicitly stated in the enabling Acts of establishment of their respective organisations and/or as specified in the instrument of such respective appointments, are under no circumstances, allowed to exceed the expiration of their tenure in office.

2. Furthermore, pending the appointment of a substantive Head of Extra-Ministerial Department/Director General/Chief Executive Officer of Parastatal, Agency, Commission and Government Owned Company, the outgoing Chief Executive Officer must handover to the next most senior officer of the establishment, as long as the officer does not have any pending disciplinary matter. Outgoing Heads of Extra-Ministerial Departments, Parastatals, Agencies, Commissions and Government-Owned Companies, are not allowed the discretion of choosing the officer to whom they would handover.

3. You are, therefore, enjoined to ensure strict compliance with the contents of this circular. Honourable Ministers are to oversee adherence to these provisions in respect of Parastatals and Agencies under their supervision.